The Sermon for the Whitsuntide Sunday

Our History

The Worldwide Anglican Church has been succeeded to preserve the traditional Anglican faith from the direct descendant of the African Orthodox Church.

St Peter the Apostle

The African Orthodox Church(AOC) owed its Episcopate and Apostolic Authority to the Syrian Church of Antioch where their disciples were first called Christians, and of which the See of St Peter the Apostle was the first Bishop.

In a Bull issued by Ignatius Peter III, Patriarch of Antioch and the East, permission was given for the Consecration of the Priest Joseph Rene Vilatte as Archbishop – Metropolitan of the Archdiocese of America, namely, for churches adhering to the Orthodox Faith; and, on May 29th, 1892, Archbishop Vilatte was duly consecrated in Ceylon by Archbishop Julius Alvarez, assisted by the Syrian Bishops George Gregorius and Paul Athanasius, all three being under obedience of the Patriarch of Antioch.

Patriarch Alexander I

On September 28th, 1921, in the United States, George Alexander McGuire, who was born in South Africa and served in Anglican Church in South Africa and the United States of America until 1918、until he was rejected by the administration of the Anglican Church (Canterbury) after he had been elected to the office of Bishop, was consecrated to the first Bishop and Primate of the AOC by Archbishop Joseph Rene Vilatte, assisted by Bishop Carl A. Nybladh who had been consecrated by Vilatte. Bishop McGuire was thrived to lay the foundation of the newborn AOC and on September 10th, 1924, he was elected to Archbishop. Then Archbishop McGuire declared that he is forming a sect of the Anglican Church “for our race”, thus the unity of the AOC, South Africa and the United States of America, began. Archbishop McGuire was elected as Patriarch by the Conclave Of Bishops with the title of Alexander I.

See Apostolic Line of Succession

In 1934, the AOC had about 30,000 members, about fifty clergies, and thirty churches in Africa and United States of America. Alexander I died on November 10th, 1934, and Archbishop George Ford (1897-2004), succeeded the mantle.

Fight against APARTHEID and strong ties with Dr Martin Luther King Jr

We fought against APARTHEID in the South Africa
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
We worked with Dr Martin Luther King Jr, in United States of America

During the 1960s and 1970s, the Church played a massive role in the fight against APARTHEID in South Africa and worked with Dr Martin Luther King Jr in the United States of America.

In 1997, AOC implemented the reform and changed its name to Anglican African Orthodox Church(AAOC). From its inception, the AAOC set out to prevent the notion that we are a black church. We made it clear that we serve all God’s people; thus, in 2002 there was a name change to Anglican Church Worldwide(ACW).

Unjust leadership prompts the Church Reformation

The initiative to commence the ACW reform was taken by the prevailing Bishops and Priests as a consequence of the egocentric leadership, obscure accountings and duplicitous exploitations demonstrated by the former Presiding Archbishop in Illinois, USA of the during his administration.
Following the eradication of wrongful concords of the previous administration, the ACW renounced its name and became the Worldwide Anglican Church(WAC) in July 2017.
Operations of the Church is now conducted with utmost fairness, and the organisation is dedicated to establishing a resilient and welcoming foundation for devoted believers worldwide.

In December 2018, the WAC and Mercy Worldwide Ministries Anglican Church (MWMAC) have come into Intercommunion with each other to form a robust union. In addition to this Intercommunion the WAC appointed its first female Archbishop, British/American Archsbishop Dr Christine Mercy Johnson of the MWMAC to the Archbishop Directorate General of the Americas. 


The work of this body began in earnest and it took (and is) in developing a strong foundation.
We began in South Africa and the USA, but now we have purview over 700 parishes and 800 clergies across five continents which will enhance the unified traditional Anglican faith.

History will decide on the work of the WAC, but it will be left to our successors to carry the vision. It is our hope that we, who have planted the seeds of growth, while we will not see it, will bear fruit that brings others to the kingdom of God. We pray at that time that much will not be said of who we were, but that what we have done.

Worldwide Anglican Church Central Office is registered and incorporated in Uganda.

Why Worldwide Anglican Church?

Because many Anglican branches moved away from the Word of God into so-called political correctness. The Worldwide Anglican Church(WAC) was born to ensure the upholding of the faith and the word of God. This does not mean that the WAC is the only traditional church to do so, or that we have all the answers; but true to our faith, we enforce the Word of God in all our practices. From time to time it is necessary to make adjustments” and theological changes, but always within the framework of the Word of God.

The WAC holds to the principles of the traditional faith of which we believe is the word of God and the fulfillment of Christian Faith. We believe that Christ died for our sins; there is no other variation, questions or thought. These attributes are true “Matters of Faith”, not to be changed, compromised or ignored by the stewards and clergy of the WAC.

We believe the Holy Scriptures, the Old and New Testament, contain all things necessary to salvation, and are the ultimate rule and standard of faith. We present our faith by the Nicene and Apostle’s Creeds as positive statements of the Christian faith and growth. We emphasize the necessity of the Sacraments of Baptism and Holy Communion. We support and promote Apostolic Succession.

The WAC is a worldwide Church that has set goals of obeying our Lord Jesus Christ’ great commission: “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, …………”
(Matthew 28:19)

Worldwide Anglican Church

  ♫  Music “All Creatures of Our God and King”